forads.blogg.se

Calculator won t open
Calculator won t open








calculator won t open

(It definitely works fine here in Win 7.) Something like "You need to download Calculator again" or "This app needs to be re-downloaded" could be better.Īn alternative to the “old calculator” (the real calc.exe in Win 7/8, not Win 10’s wrapper-launcher for the metro app) is Microsoft Calculator Plus, which was released in 2004 for Win XP, but reportedly works well in Win 10 & Win 8.x. Most people would assume that the error message is illogical. The phrasing of the option is also something that could confuse some users. Also, why on earth has Microsoft greyed out the OK button? Surely, there will be a few people, like me, who didn't realize that the "Look for an app in the Microsoft Store" is the fix. The fix may sound really obvious to you, but the reason why we're sharing this is because it could potentially fix other default apps in Windows 10. I didn't use that, I wanted Calc.exe to work when I clicked it, and sure enough it did. I clicked that, and immediately got a notification in the Action Center telling me that Windows Calculator is ready to use, and showed a launch option. It had a get button, clicking which, showed an install option. It opened the Windows Store app, and displayed the Windows Calculator page. Instead of closing the pop-up, I hovered over to the "Look for an app in the Microsoft Store" option and clicked on it. How to fix You'll need a new app to open this calculatorĪnd this moment was also when I found the fix, and I literally laughed out loud when it worked.

calculator won t open

This is when I began wondering if this was a more complicated issue than I had believed it to be. I wanted to "Reset" the Calculator from Settings > Apps & Features, but the app wasn't even listed there. Running Calc.exe told me it didn't fix it. I rebooted the computer, hoping it would have fixed the issue. Get-AppxPackage -Name Microsoft.WindowsCalculator | Add-AppxPackage.Get-AppxPackage -Name Microsoft.WindowsCalculator | Remove-AppxPackage.As a final resort, I tried running the following commands one by one, in an elevated Powershell:.The Windows Store reset command, "Wsreset.exe" which you can execute from the "Run" tool (Win + R), also failed to help me.Next I tried the DISM command in an elevated Command Prompt "DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth".And, it turned out everything was fine, even though the Calculator app wouldn't run. Running the System File Checker as an administrator is always a good step in troubleshooting Windows related errors.Since my Windows 10 is new (had reset the PC a few days ago), I assumed that there was some pending update or something. The first places I looked for a fix was Windows Update and the Windows Store app.Here's a list of what I tried, and didn't work:










Calculator won t open